The Issues of concern to most of us are dealt with by the Principal Committees of the States which are listed below.

This Committee is mandated to protect and enhance the natural and physical environment and develop infrastructure in ways which are balanced and sustainable in order that present and future generations can live in a community which is clean, vibrant and prosperous.

The challenges that this committee face are posed by the Traffic Strategy which is a shadow of it’s former self, ensuring the biodiversity plan is well executed and delivers expected outcomes, protection of our physical environment from unsympathetic building development and assisting the Committee for Economic Development to diversify the economy in providing a stable and sustainable agricultural sector.

This Committee’s President is Deputy Barry Brehaut, the Vice President is Deputy Mark Dorey and members Deputy Lindsay de Sausmarez, Deputy Sarah Hansmann-Rouxel and Deputy Shane Langlois.

The mandate for this Committee is to secure prosperity through generation of wealth and the creation of the greatest number and widest range of employment opportunities possible by promoting and developing business, commerce and industry in all sectors of the economy.

The President of the Committee is
Deputy Charles Parkinson, Vice President is me, with members and Deputy Joe Mooney, Deputy Dawn Tindall and Deputy David de Lisle.

Deputy Peter Ferbrache, Deputy Jan Kuttlewascher Deputy Jennifer Merrett were previous sat until end/beg. 2017/18.

The purpose of this Committee is to encourage human development by maximising opportunities for participation and excellence through education, learning, sport and culture at every stage in life.

Contentious issues for this Committees are the future Secondary education in Guernsey, Selection, the rebuild of La Mare de Carteret School and the funding of the provision of 15 hours free-hours of pre-school education for children.

The newly formed Committee has doubled it’s work load, taking into its mandate the previous Culture & Leisure Department.

Whilst the Education part of the Committee has pressing issues to deal with a balance is being struck to ensure that the mandate is equally weighted for all elements of Education, Sport and Culture.

The President of this Committee is
Deputy Matt Fallaize, Vice President is Deputy Richard Graham and members Deputy Mark Dorey, Deputy Rhian Tooley and Deputy Peter Roffey.

Previous members of the same Committee are Deputy Paul Le Pelley, Deputy Carl Meerveld, Deputy Andrea Dudley-Owen, Deputy Marc Leadbeater, Deputy David de Lisle, Deputy Lester Queripel and Deputy John Gollop.

To support a high standard of living and quality of life by maintaining and promoting a safe, stable and equitable society which values public protection and justice and respects the rights, responsibilities and potential of every person.

The Committee President is Deputy Mary Lowe, Vice President is Deputy Rob Prow and members are Deputy Marc Leadbeater, Deputy Victoria Oliver and Deputy Richard Graham.

To protect, promote and improve the health and wellbeing of individuals and the community.

The Committee President is Deputy Heidi Soulsby, the Vice-President is Deputy Rhian Tooley and members Deputy Rob Prow, Deputy Emilie Yerby and Deputy Dawn Tindall and Non-States member Dr Roger Allsopp, OBE

Responsible for social insurance, pensions, social housing, supplementary benefit, housing benefit, long-term care insurance, health and safety in the workplace, social inclusion including disability, industrial relations, legal aid. These were previously mainly functions of Social Security and Housing

The Committee President is Deputy Michelle Le Clerc, the Vice-President is Deputy Shane Langlois and members Deputy John Gollop, Deputy Emilie Yerby and Deputy Peter Roffey and Non-States members Mike Brown and Andrew Le Lievre.

Other Committees

Below for your information I have listed other Committees which deal both with policy and operational matters.

  • Connector.

    Policy & Resources

    This is the bridge of the ship which guides the States. We have here seasoned individuals who provide look at putting in place policies relating to: leadership and co-ordination of States work; fiscal and financial resources, external relations; and other delegated functions.

  • Connector.

    Development & Planning Authority

    This committee deals with, amongst other things, land policy and administration of planning, development applications and control.

  • Connector.

    Civil Contingencies

    Members are Presidents of P&R, Environment, Health & Social Care & Home Affairs. They are responsible for a framework for civil protection.

  • Connector.

    Overseas Aid & Development Committee

    Administration and distribution of funds for the purposes of aid & development overseas.

  • Connector.

    Transport Licensing Authority

    Responsible for the regulation and licensing of transport services in Guernsey, including the issuing of air route licences. Deputy Barry Paint is President of this Committee.

  • Connector.

    Scrutiny Management

    Providing the required check on States Committees by challenging and scrutinising of actions and decisions. Before the restructure this function was undertaken by the Public Accounts Committee. It will also give advice and support in relation to legislative functions and reporting on schemes related to the General Synod. The President of this Committee is Deputy Chris Green.

  • Connector.

    States Assembly & Constitution Committee

    Commonly known as SACC this committee is responsible for the rules governing the constitiution of the States of Deliberation. This ranges from the seating order in the Chamber to post-Election inductions relating to the structure of government for elected Deputies and various other areas relating to the operational functions of the States.

  • Connector.

    States Trading & Supervisory Board

    This committee is responsible for overseeing the actions and promoting the policies relating to the States trading organisations, such as the Harbours, Diary, Waste, Water, CI Lottery. It also delivers the operational functions relating to the Shareholder functions and duties in respect of these trading companies as well as management and administration of all States owned, leased property and real estate. The President of this Committee is Barry Paint.